Online Google Dictionary

presidency 中文解釋 wordnet sense Collocation Usage
Font size:

presidencies, plural;
  1. The office of president
    • - the presidency of the U.S
  2. The period of this
    • - the liberal climate that existed during Carter's presidency
  3. The role of the priest or minister who conducts a Eucharist

  4. (in the Mormon church) A council of three officers forming the highest administrative body

  1. the tenure of a president; "things were quiet during the Eisenhower administration"
  2. the office and function of president; "Andrew Jackson expanded the power of the presidency beyond what was customary before his time"
  3. The word presidency is often used to describe the administration or the executive, the collective administrative and governmental entity that exists around an office of president of a state or nation. It is also the governing authority of some churches.
  4. Presidency was used as a term for a country subdivision in British India.
  5. Presidency is a religious, organizational concept loosely based on The Trinity, where leadership resides in a head (commonly called the President) supported by two (or more) assistants with unique duties and responsibilities. ...
  6. (Presidents (game)) Asshole (also less commonly known as President, Presidents & Assholes, Kings & Assholes, Kings & Servants, Shlub, Scum(bag), Capitalism, Pimps & Hoes, Butt and other names), an Americanized version of Dai Hin Min, is a card game for three or more in which players race to get ...
  7. (The presidents) A president is a leader of an organization, company, trade union, university, or country.
  8. (The Presidents (band)) The Presidents were an American soul group from Washington, D.C.. The group's members were Tony Boyd, Archie Powell, and Billy Shorter. The group scored a hit in the U.S. ...
  9. (The Presidents (TV series)) The Presidents is a 2005 American documentary television series about the history of each President of the United States of America, narrated by Edward Herrmann.
  10. (Presidencies) Three districts that made up the bulk of the directly ruled British territories in India; capitals at Madras, Calcutta, and Bombay. (p. 733)
  11. (Presidents) ' Day is the common name for the United States federal holiday officially designated as Washington's Birthday; it is celebrated on the third Monday of February.
  12. (Presidents) Orlando Ayala · Steve Berkowitz · Lisa Brummel · Jean-Philippe Courtois · Jon DeVaan · Kurt DelBene · Paul Flessner · Darren Huston  · Antoine Leblond  · Mich Mathews · Don A. ...
  13. The EU Presidency rotates every six months. A country does not really hold the presidency of the European Union but of the Council of Ministers of the European Union. The Netherlands holds the presidency from 1 July through 31 December.
  14. one of three (3) British administrative areas in India: Bengal, Madras, and Bombay.
  15. Click on “Presidency” to view an alphabetical index of documents and images relating to the presidency. Click on a letter to reveal the documents contained in that portion of the index.
  16. Hosni Mubarak (President) • Omar Suleiman (Vice President)